PAFSO 2020 Photo Contest Results


Winning submission: “First COVID-19 Haircut, Ottawa, Canada” by Nicolas St-Pierre.

The Professional Association of Foreign Service Officers (PAFSO) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2020 Annual Photo Contest held earlier this year.

The theme for this year’s contest, Vision 2020, was designed to give PAFSO members an opportunity to showcase their photographic skills in capturing how 2020’s particularities have shaped, for better or worse,  their unique daily experience of living and working as Foreign Service officers all across the world.

Nicolas St-Pierre’s “First COVID-19 Haircut, Ottawa, Canada” was awarded the first prize by this year’s jury.

“After Québec’s provincial government decided to shut down all non-essential services, including my hairdresser’s salon, it dawned on me that I would have to let my wife Julie cut my hair if I did not want to come out of confinement looking like a caveman!” Nicolas recalls. “Driven by a documentary impulse, I decided to turn my lens towards my loved ones and capture ordinary scenes of our daily lives in those unordinary times. Sensing that this would be a family ‘historical moment’, I set up my camera on a tripod and asked my daughter to click away while my hair was being cut. Thankfully, Julie proved to be quite skillful and a catastrophe was averted.”

Second prize went to Jessica Brousseau for her photograph entitled “Workplace COVID.0, Buenos Aires, Argentina.” And “A Quiet Commute, Dakar Senegal” by Corina Pinto earned third prize.

Each winner will receive a gift certificate from Henry’s, a major Canadian photo equipment and electronics retailer ($150 for the first prize, $100 for the second prize and $50 for the third prize).

Honourable mentions this year were awarded to Tsung-Wei Lin, Gurvir Khosa, Michael Otton, Laura Atar, Jennifer Cargill, Kristin Janson, Kapil Madan, and Ala Ji

Once again, images from this year’s contest will be featured in the 2021 PAFSO desk calendar.

Congratulations to all of our winners and honourable mention recipients!


The Executive Committee of PAFSO

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account